WHEEL OF TIME is one of my favourite fantasy book series, and I am really excited about seeing this universe come to life on the screen this winter.

The Wheel of Time is a series of 14 high fantasy books by American author Robert Jordan. There’s also a prequel and two companion books, so in total there are 17 books to dive into. 

Brandon Sanderson is the co-author of the final three novels. Robert Jordan died of an illness before he had completed his series, and his widow and editor, Harriet picked Sanderson as the writer she believed could do the job.

The first book, The Eye of the World, was published in 1990 and Robert Jordan died in 2007. Brandon Sanderson finished the series with the final book, A Memory of Light, in 2013. And now, we’re getting a screen adaptation from Prime Video. It will be released in November this year, and I can’t wait.

So, what do you need to know about Wheel of Time? Well, it’s a high fantasy series that was inspired by Lord of the Rings. But with a number of twists. First of all, Gandalf is a woman in this series. Her name is Moiraine Damodred, Aes Sedai of the Blue Ajah.

The hobbits are normal humans, but they’ve got a lot in common with the hobbitses. Rand, Perrin and Mat, three farm boys from a small backwater village, have to go on an adventure to save, or destroy, the world. And if they get to go, their friends Egwene and Nyneave will go too. 

Unlike Bilbo and Frodo, these boys really don’t want to leave their homes. They are quintessential hobbitses who look down on everything that happens outside their village. And, like many small village people, they think they know exactly what it’s like in the big scary world outside their borders. Because they’ve heard the stories…  

The first season of the Prime Video Series will be based on books 1 to 3, so I’ve decided to reread them starting this week. And I think this is a perfect choice for a Let’s Read, so please feel free to tag along.

The full series consists of:

0) New Spring, prequel, 2004

1) Eye of the World, 1990

2) The Great Hunt, 1990

3) The Dragon Reborn, 1991

4) The Shadow Rising, 1992

5) The Fires of Heaven, 1993

6) Lord of Chaos, 1994

7) A Crown of Swords, 1996

8) The Path of Daggers, 1998

9) Winter’s Heart, 2000

10) Crossroads of Twilight, 2003

11) Knife of Dreams, 2005

12) The Gathering Storm, 2005

13) Towers of Midnight, 2010

14) A Memory of Light, 2013

Right, while we’re waiting for the trailer to drop, I’ll dive into the prequel and report back to you.

Stage 2. here I come!

//Evalena 😘


Disclaimer: As We Write (AWW) is an independent, non-profit blog owned by Evalena Styf. AWW is not affiliated with Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson, The Wheel of Time, Tor Books, Orbit Books, Sony Pictures Television, Amazon Studios, Amazon Prime Video or any other production or broadcast entities associated with The Wheel of Time or any other titles mentioned.

Photo, Graphics, Audio and Video: Photos from The Wheel of Time or any other titles discussed in this post are either screenshots or promotional pictures released by the distributor(s). All other pictures are from CanvaPro unless another source is mentioned. Any audio/video clips used in this post are strictly for commentary purposes. This usage falls under Fair Use according to US copyright law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *